Gluten-Free Banana Bread

I struggle to find gluten-free products that don’t taste dry and bland, so I’ve recently started taking matters into my own hand and coming up with recipes to make them as ‘normal’ tasting as possible. Cakes/biscuits especially have been a difficult find for me, and most recipes I’ve come across still have a certain texture that’s hard to ignore, so I started to work with recipes that rely on strong flavoured and juicy/moist ingredients, which meant the first thing that came to my head was banana bread. I gave it a go and it came out so well (quite surprisingly), I thought everyone deserved to try it whether gluten intolerant or not!

image2

Ingredients:

280g gluten-free plain flour

1 tsp gluten-free baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

110g softened butter

2 free range organic eggs

210g sugar

4 ripe bananas mashed (the browner the better)

85ml buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

How to make:

  • Preheat the oven to 180˚C (350˚F)
  • Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt into a bowl
  • Separately mix the butter and sugar until fluffy
  • Add the buttermilk, mashed bananas, eggs and vanilla extract to the sugar and butter mixture
  • Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ones and pour into a greased loaf tin
  • Bake for an hour and then set on a wire rack until cooled

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Leave a comment